Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Book Review: The Dawning of Power Trilogy

 Review of The Dawning of Power Trilogy by Brian Rathbone

This series is available at all online stores, including Smashwords, Amazon, B&N, Kobo and Apple.  I highly recommend it.  There are six books in the series.  The Dawning of Power Trilogy is the first three.

Call of the Herald


Book One of The Dawning of Power trilogy. Echoes of the ancients' power are distant memories, tattered and faded by the passage of eons, but that is about to change. A new dawn has arrived. Latent abilities, harbored in mankind's deepest fibers, wait to be unleashed. Ancient evils awaken, and old fears ignite the fires of war.

My Review:

As an avid reader of fantasy, sometimes it's hard to try someone new rather than re-reading books I love, but I'm so glad I opened this book.

The first character you meet, Catrin, is a strong female lead.  It doesn't take long to get to know who she is.  Other key characters are introduced quickly and fleshed out without taking the reader out of the story.   In fact, it didn't take long for me to get into the story to the point where I didn't want to put it down.

Catrin is a seemingly normal young woman, but the reader soon learns that there's more to her than she or anyone else realizes.  Times are changing (as they tend to do) in the world of Godsland and dire consequences have been prophesied.  Unknown powers find her and she has no idea what to do with them.  Add to that the threat of invasion and people hunting her and you have one stressed out young woman. ;)

The people who surround Catrin are interesting and well developed.  They don't cater to her, but treat her as a real person, which is nice to find.

The adventure and danger are exciting and kept me on the edge of my seat, ready for more.  My biggest complaint about this story was reaching the end and having to wait for the next book to load. ;)

Inherited Danger


Book Two of The Dawning of Power trilogy. Catrin leaves her homeland behind as she goes in search of knowledge and peace, unaware that she will face the greatest evil her world has ever known.

My Review:

An excellent sequel. New details and suspense begin to unfold.  New characters are added that are even more likable.  One of the things I like most about fantasy is that the authors always tend to was philosophical.  Catrin explores her senses and how they relate to the world and other life around her.  The concept of powers beyond the mortals and how they relate to supreme being/s really comes through.

There is more adventure and danger at every step of the way.  The world is on the brink of destruction (as most usually are) but it's possibly the mechanizations of mankind that are a greater threat than any supernatural hazard.

Once again, I'm left wanting to start the next book instantly. :)  These books are truly difficult to put down.

Dragon Ore


Book Three of The Dawning of Power trilogy. Clinging to life, Catrin Volker struggles to regain her strength as her foes go in search of even greater power. Ancient enemies threaten and forgotten alliances emerge in the exciting conclusion of The Dawning of Power trilogy.

My Review:

Lots of action in this culmination to the trilogy.  I enjoyed the interactions between the characters.  There are strong relationships and friendships throughout.  I've always been a big fan of character driven stories.  I like to get to know the individuals and love/hate them.  Catrin and her friends are definitely likable.

The villain doesn't quite become the archenemy that I expected.  There's not enough of his motivation and personality that comes through.  He seems more of a politician gone power hungry who never delivers on implied evildoer promise in the end.  The other enemies throughout present frequent challenges, with the greatest enemy being nature and power I believe.  The peril to Catrin and friends delivers constant suspense, which makes it difficult to put the book down.

Some of the events that happen around Catrin's home while she's gone are a bit confusing and it takes a bit of concentration to keep up with the myriad of details.  The world created is filled with sweeping vistas and exotic lands that are exciting for the reader to visit.

The ending comes to a satisfying conclusion for this story, but is left open for the next series and a future that promises great adventure.

Overall, this is an excellent fantasy series.  The characters and plot are original.  I definitely recommend giving it a read.

About the Author

Brian Rathbone is a horse trainer turned author and creator of The World of Godsland fantasy series, which includes Call of the Herald, Inherited Danger, Dragon Ore, and Regent (Feral and Regal are forthcoming). He is also the author of the Sam Flock novels, a paranormal adventure series that begins with Lure.

You can find him at Smashwords and Amazon


I have decided to review books that I enjoy.  I am an avid reader of fantasy, so most of them will be in that genre.  I'm not taking any requests, just reading what catches my eyes.  You'll find that most of these are from Indie Authors.  The way I figure it, David Eddings, Anne McCaffrey, Alan Dean Foster and Piers Anthony (my favorite authors) already have enough reviews, but Indies could always use a few more.

It is important to note here that while I am a writer, I am doing these reviews as a reader.  I also know a number of the authors I will be reviewing.  This is not an exchange of reviews, nor have I been solicited by those authors to write the review.

All my best,

John H. Carroll

No comments: